Drikung, The Main Seat of Drikung Kagyu Order

The four main monasteries of the Drikung Kagyu Order are situated in the Drikung region in Central Tibet: Drikung Thil, Yangrigar, Drikung Dzong, and Drikung Tse. These monasteries were the centers of the religious activities customarily carried out throughout the year in the presence of the Kyabgon Rinpoches. Therefore the throne holders split their time between these monasteries on a regular basis. In spring the Chungtsang and Chetsang Rinpoches resided in Drikung Tse, in summer they moved to Yangrigar, in autumn to Drikung Thil, and they spent the winter in Drikung Dzong.

Beside these, there were and still are numerous other Drikung Kagyu monasteries and nunneries in this area. Notable among those is the monastery of Katsel, because it ranges among the oldest in Tibet, and the nunnery of Terdrom, situated close to a sacred thermal spring at the entrance to a valley with various holy places, including famous caves of Padmasambhava and Yeshe Tsogyal. This highly revered zone of pilgrimage is considered to be the heart of the Drikung Mandala.

Other notable monasteries of the Drikungpa in the region include Yamari, Drongur, Cholung Nunnery, and of course the famous academy of Buddhist philosophy, Nyima Changra Shedra.